The Sweet with Special Guests House of Lords


Sweet is a success story that begins in 1970. When Brian Connolly and Mick Tucker left Wainwrights Gentlemen in 1968 to form their own band “Sweetshop”, later shortened to “The Sweet”, little did they know what lay ahead. They recruited Steve Priest on bass who was gaining a reputation with his band, The Army. After two guitarists, Frank Torpey and Mick Stewart and four singles which failed to make the charts the band were at a crossroads, almost at the point of splitting when Andy Scott, from The Elastic Band, joined. The year was 1970 and the “Classic” Sweet line up was complete.

SWEET are a National Treasure, British at the core and a Rock Music Phenomena that has taken every continent by storm for more than four decades. The Golden Thread that links the past through to the present and into the future is Andy Scott. His determination to maintain high standards with the band’s musical legacy and touring is legendary. The band today has an illustrious pedigree recreating “live” the high energy and soaring vocals associated with the Sweet sound that is the band’s trade mark. SWEET are Pete Lincoln – Lead vocals and Bass Guitar. Bruce Bisland – Drums and Vocals. Tony O’Hora – Guitar, Keyboards and Vocals. Andy Scott – Guitar and Vocals.

Brian Connolly, the band’s original lead vocalist, had the good fortune to meet record producer, Phil Wainman at the BBC, who had met a couple of songwriters, Nicky Chinn and Mike Chapman, their songs needed a singer and eventually a band. The first Sweet single “Funny Funny” was among the original recordings and the rest as they say is history. The early years brought chart success but did not satisfy the band musically. “CoCo” and “Poppa Joe” gave the band the hits they craved but lacked credibility. The change came with the onset of Glam – “Little Willy” and “Wig Wam Bam” had a tongue in cheek innuendo but when “Blockbuster!” hit the number one spot in the UK, Sweet were arguably the hottest ticket in town. Several more hits followed, “Hellraiser”, “Ballroom Blitz”, “Teenage Rampage”, “The Six Teens” and “Turn It Down” as well as two acclaimed albums “Sweet Fanny Adams” and “Desolation Boulevard”.

House of Lords debuted in 1989 with the release of their self-titled album, a record which is still regarded as one of the best arena rock releases of the 80’s. The colossal sound, the soaring vocals of James Christian and instrumental capabilities of the band (which featured ex-Angel and Giuffria keyboardist, Gregg Giuffria, along with luminaries Lanny Cordola, Chuck Wright and Ken Mary), were reminiscent of such frontrunners as Whitesnake, Deep Purple and Van Halen and immediately brought the band to the attention of the music media and fans.

In January 2017 it was announced that House of Lords eleventh studio album ‘Saint Of The Lost Souls’ would be released on March 24th, 2017. The album was recorded with essentially the same line-up as previous albums, the only change being Bassist Chris Tristram who started with the band in November 2016 replacing Chris McCarvill.

The band has toured relentlessly in Europe and the States in support of their releases and have now become a true staple of the hard rock scene on both continents. House Of Lords stands for superb hooks and majestic atmospheres that bring back the memories of their stellar debut album, monumental guitar riffs and a production to die for. All these ingredients you will find on “Saint Of The Lost Souls” which shines from the first second to the last!


Mar 31 2018


8:00 PM


$29.00 - $49.00

More Info



Arcada Theatre
105 E. Main St., St. Charles IL 60174